The Brigantine Rams officially kick off their 60th season in the Atlantic County Junior Football League Saturday, Sept. 9, at home against the Northfield Cardinals. Game times are 2 p.m. for the taxi team, 4 p.m. for the peewees, 5:30 p.m. for the junior varsity and 7 p.m. for the varsity.

In commemoration of the team's 60th anniversary, Rams alumni will be honored in a ceremony starting around 6:45 p.m. at the 42nd Street football field. Groups of former players will be recognized according to the decade in which they competed.

The Rams play at the recreational complex across from the Brigantine Community Center on 42nd Street, better known as Lou Wagenheim Way. Wagenheim co-founded the league in 1957 and was the first head coach Brigantine ever had, remaining at the post for 20 years. The Rams were charter members of the league along with the Atlantic City Dolphins, Pleasantville Jokers and Absecon Blue Devils. Currently there are 16 teams in the ACJFL.

Wagenheim, who passed away in 2011, led the Rams varsity to three league titles during his tenure, including in the league's inaugural year. Mike Burns, Tom Bordonaro and Paul Marrandino followed him as head coaches, and Mike Morgan took the helm in 1991 and remained there for 24 years, turning the reins over to John Knoff two years ago.

Morgan led the Rams varsity to the 2006 league title in a game that had the Rams rallying from a 14-point deficit to win in overtime, 20-14, dealing the A.C. Dolphins their only loss that year.

Along with Knof, this year's Rams varsity football coaches are Jason Klemm, Frank Timek, Brenden St Claire, Mario Lange and Paul Marrandino. The JV coaches are Joe Handle, Kevin Turner, John Watson and Bill Hoffman. Peewee coaches are Lars Taboga, Jack Murray, Chris Keena and Mark Kaplan. Taxi coaches are Paul Amalfitano and Brendan Kelly.

Varsity cheerleading coaches include Hillary Mejia, Bree Monachelli and Madelyn Starkman. The JV cheerleading coach is Maria Handle, the peewee cheerleading coach is Alysa Gatta, and the taxi cheerleading coach is Nickie Simon.

Other ACJFL teams include the Buena Braves, Egg Harbor City Crusaders, Egg Harbor Township Eagles, Galloway Mustangs, Hammonton Hawks, Linwood Panthers, Mays Landing Lakers, Ocean City Junior Raiders, Somers Point Sharks, Ventnor Pirates and Vineland Blitz.

Stay informed! Sign up to receive top headlines from Atlantic County delivered to your inbox.