Coxswain Will Hoffman will guide the Holy Spirit crew team this year. The Spartans are looking forward to competing in the nationals.

Tyler Parnell helped the St. Augustine Prep varsity eight defeat Mountain Lakes on Lake Lenape Saturday on the opening of the crew racing season.

Daniel Mowen is a member of the Atlantic High crew boys lightweight eight that won at Lenape.

Sophs Abbey and Maddy Gragg (Atlantic High) are members of a strong Marist crew team that will compete in the Iona Invitationals at New Rochelle, N.Y., in April. Teri and Doug Gragg again have volunteered to cater food for the parents.

Marty Cortelessa and Mike Dalessio will patrol the outfield for Mainland’s baseball team, which should contend for the conference title.

Aliza Haider (Atlantic City) was named to the second team Press of Atlantic City All-Stars.

Turning back the pages to …

2009: Jules Daniels will posthumously receive the official of the year award at the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame dinner. Lou Wagenheim will also be honored by the foundation for his many years of service to area youth. Eric Herndon will receive one of the 2009 Scholar-Athlete Awards. Brent Caprio of Mainland is another exceptional scholar-athlete to be honored.

2010: Donta Pollock and Zack Fabel led Spirit to a 34-0 win over Ocean City. Donta Pollock scored two touchdowns in Spirit’s seventh consecutive victory, shutting out Ocean City 34-0. Local Zack Fabel snared a pass from Joe Callahan (Green Bay Packers) for another score to put Spirit up 20-0 at the half.

2010: Led by locals Dana DiStefano and Kerin Maguire, the Holy Spirit tennis team won the CAL National Division with a league record of 18-0 and 18-2 overall.

2012: Taylor Troy, Cayleigh McCusker, Erin Coffman, Taylor Mason and Meredith Hardiman helped the Holy Spirit girls second eight, junior eight and novice eight take three gold medals in the Noxontown Regatta Saturday, April 21.

2012: The Atlantic City High School freshman girls defeated Holy Spirit at Flick Regatta. Viking rowers included Lauren Stinson, Abigail Pierson, Haley Huff, Lara Storr, Lexi Derrickson, and Abbey and Maddy Gragg.

2013: Carly Newcomb knocked in two runs in Holy Sprit’s 11-3 loss to Absegami.

2016: Seven members of the Holy Spirit crew team received scholarships to row for Division 1 schools. Kylee Magee, Erin, Walsh, Nicole Mayer, Kali Reganatto, Sarah Miller, Ave Mc Fadden, and Terry Slattery were the Spartan award winners.

2016: The Holy Spirit High School girls crew team got wins from its second eight and junior eight Sunday at the fourth and final Manny Flick-Horvat Series Regatta on the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia. Holy Spirit is top-ranked in The Press Elite 11.

2016: The Spartans second eight won Flight A of its division in 5 minutes and 20.63 seconds, the best time of the two flights. The Holy Spirit crew included stroke Tarryn Slattery, Caitlin Mensah, Elaine Estlow, Adrianna Beck, Abby Koch, Maddy Koch, Olivia Torres, bow Alexa Leone and coxswain Ave McFadden.

Stay informed! Sign up to receive top headlines from Atlantic County delivered to your inbox.