The Holy Spirit High School girls varsity eight girls crew was selected as the Press’ South Jersey Crew of the Year. The team was comprised of local Rachel Fable along with Hayley Mc Coy, Shannon Boyle, Claira Fucetola, Stephanie Di lanni, Kira Mc Cully, Callie Miller, Armanda Kelly, and Natalie Weeks. The Lady Spartans had won the Atlantic County High School Rowing championship and won the girls crew Elite 11, besting second-place Ocean City. Spirit is coached by Joe Welsh and he is assisted by local Rory Roberts, a Brigantine North Middle School teacher.

The Spartan second eight with locals Abby and Maddy Koch also was the best in their category winning the Philadelphia City Championship. The Spirit novice eight with local Marissa Canuso also won its division championship.

Scrapbook Scribblings

Brigantine’s Brett Kennedy, an Atlantic City High School graduate, pitched six strong innings to win, 6-4, for the San Antonio Missions (Padres) over the Springfield Cardinals in a Double A Texas League game to clinch the division. Kennedy is 6-3 with a 3.95 ERA in 13 starts.

Paige Sofield finished third in the 800 run in the Parochial B championships. Paige and Kristy Goff helped the Spartan 4X400 relay team win. The relay team is one of the best in school history according to Coach Dave Pfeifer. Sofield finished second in the 200-meter race in the Tournament of Champions. Spirit’s Cade Antonucci won the javelin toss for the second consecutive year in the TOC.

Turning back the pages to…

1925-2007- Eddie Feigner of the King and his Court four-man softball team pitched 930 no-hitters and 238 perfect games. If memory serves me correctly, Feigner beat local great Cal Miller 1-0. Feigner struck out Willie Mays, Willie Mc Covey, Brooks Robinson, Roberto Clemente, Maury Wills, and Harmon Kilklebrew consecutively in an exhibition game against major league all-stars.

The 1957-champion Brigantine Rams included Coaches Lou Wagenheim, Pat Doran, Walt Bew, Bill Merz, Tom Daley, and players Bill Trantor, Steve Powers, Mike Sluzenski, Andy Keena, Arthur Keen, Steve Saunders, Bob Mc Laughlin, Jack Waslefski, Jim Knauff, Frank Ryan, Rob Roberts, Bill Mueller, Royce Stoudt, Jim Sink, Dennis Fitzgerald, Jim Andros, Dale Kisbaugh, Buddy Becket, Mark Gross, Andy Simpson, John Powers, Steve Hurtt, Dan Duffy, John Daniels, Ron Roberts, Paul Douglas, Dan Jones and Bill Merz Jr.

1967-Coach Walt Bew’s Brigantine Stars beat undefeated Tony’s of Egg Harbor, 92-78, ending a 28-game win streak of the visitors. Captain Jim Mogan led all scorers with 29 points. Joe Magosin followed with 19 and Bob Simon added 10.

1976-President Jimmy Carter honored Brigantine’s 17th Street Beach protected by lifeguards Rick Derrickson, Bob Mercer and Phil Guenther for safety. (This was written in a column in 1991 and hopefully is not fake news since we cannot verify the story.)

1991-Melissa Bew was one of the top scorers on the Holy Spirit freshman basketball team.

1992-Luanne Marrandino’s 13 points helped La Salle’s champion intramural team beat Villanova at the Palestra.

Stay informed! Sign up to receive top headlines from Atlantic County delivered to your inbox.