Speech competition

From left, Assistant Professor of Communication Dr. Joy Jones congratulates the winners of the Public Speaking Scholarship Competition, Samantha Lizak, Aeberli Begasse and Sarah Stefanick.


MAYS LANDING — Three Atlantic Cape Community College students will receive scholarships for earning the top scores in the second annual Public Speaking Scholarship Competition Nov. 22.

Winners were Aeberli Begasse of Galloway, first place, $700 scholarship; Samantha Lizak of Cape May, second place, $500 scholarship; and Sarah Stefanick of Cape May, third place, $250 scholarship.

The scholarships were provided by Pearson Education Publishing, using proceeds from a public speaking textbook published for Atlantic Cape students.

The annual competition is organized by Dr. Joy Jones, assistant professor of communication.

Fifteen students participated in the competition, each preparing a six-minute persuasive speech on the topic of their choice. A panel of judges scored each student on the content and delivery of their speeches.