HAMILTON TOWNSHIP — The Hamilton Township Board of Education held its annual reorganization meeting Wednesday, Jan. 10 after a two-day postponement for inclement weather.

Incumbents Barbara Kupp and Derek Haye were sworn in to new three-year terms, along with former board member Amelia Francis, who was elected to a three-year term in November.

Eric Aiken was sworn in for a one-year term. He failed to win re-election, finishing fourth in the race for three seats, but was selected by the board in December to replace Kim Melton, who resigned at the end of 2017.

Aiken was chosen to serve as board president by a vote of 7-1, with Francis being the lone dissenter. This will be Aiken’s fourth year as the head of the board.

Board member Amy Hassa was unanimously chosen vice president.

Aiken’s seat will be up for election in November to complete the remaining year of Melton’s term.

Stay informed! Sign up to receive top headlines from Atlantic County delivered to your inbox.