12th annual Stephanie Burke run raises more than $8K for cancer patients

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

annual Stephanie Burke race begins. annual Stephanie Burke race begins. The South Jersey Cancer Fund (SJCF) held the 12th annual Stephanie Burke 5K and 1 Mile Fun Run this past Saturday at the 15th Street beach. More than 50 runners competed in the 5K (3.1 miles), running down the beach to Club Drive and back to the finish.

The top finisher was Will Flournoy of Port Republic who won in 20:02 – a pace of 6:27 – a great time for the beach run.

The top female finisher was Dara Schulman from Arlington, Va., who finished in 24:15.

The first Brigantine finisher was Patrick Sofield, who finished sixth overall with a time of 21:21, followed by Ed Stoltzfus with 22:55.

Brigantine age-group winners were Jack Corbett (26:48), Paige Sofield (25:55), Marissa Murray (28:02), and Maureen Baldwin (24:35).

The top 1 Mile Fun Run finishers were listed as Josh Gabrysz, Haley Crispell, Sadie Crispell and Ethan Slaughter. Unfortunately, the mile run times were not available at press time.

The competition between Brigantine’s Fire and Police departments was won by the fire department’s Bill Baldwin in a time of 30:27 who beat Police Chief John Stone in a spirited race. Councilman Rick DeLucry finished in 32:15.

The event raised more than $8,600 for the SJCF, an all-volunteer nonprofit group which provides assistance to thousands of cancer patients and their families. More than 95 percent of all funds raised by the group goes directly to the patients and their families to help with prescriptions, medical supplies, utility costs and other needs.

The SJCF would like to thank all the racers, volunteers and sponsors, as well as Brigantine Public Works (John Doring) and Brigantine Officer Jessica Newcomer for their help and support.

The following are the Brigantine competitors in the 5K with their times: Patrick Sofield 21:21, Ed Stoltzfus 22:55, Will Braithwaite 23:41, Michael Slaughter 24:13, Maureen Baldwin 24:35, Owen Braithwaite 25:32, Paige Sofield 25:55, Jack Corbett 26:48, Dan Mowen 27:01, Cole Murray 27:56, Marissa Murray 28:02, MB Holmes 29:00, Michaela Sasso 29:55, Keely Murray 29:57, William Baldwin 30:27, Margot Murray 31:30, Brandon Cross 32:12, Rick Delucry 32:15, Angel Sasso 32:23, John Stone 33:03, Lainie Estlow 33:15, Joanne Wankmiller 34:17.

All times and finishes were provided by JB Sports Timing.

The Men's winner, Will Flournoy.
The Men's winner, Will Flournoy.

The Women's winner, Dara Schulman. The Women's winner, Dara Schulman.

Photos submitted by Joe McNally - SJCF

blog comments powered by Disqus