New Jersey increases penalties for use of cellphone, texting while driving

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

New Jersey increases penalties for texting and using cell phones while driving New Jersey increases penalties for texting and using cell phones while driving

EGG HARBOR TOWNSHIP The Egg Harbor Township Police Department is advising motorists that the penalties for violation of the state law prohibiting use of cellphones while driving have been increased.

On June 27, Gov. Chris Christie authorized the changes, which call for higher fines and heightened penalties for offenses. It applies to texting while driving as well.

 The amended state law calls for:

First offense – a fine of $200 to $400

Second offense – a fine of $400 to $600

Third or subsequent offense – a fine of $600 to $800. In addition, the court may suspend driving privileges for 90 days and assess three points from the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.


blog comments powered by Disqus