November races look tight after primary

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

Tuesday’s primary election results indicate that the races for Egg Harbor City Council and Hamilton Township Committee could be closely contested this fall.

In both municipalities, candidates in the Democratic and Republican party primaries were separated by less than 26 votes according to unofficial results posted Wednesday morning on the Atlantic County Clerk’s website.

In the uncontested race to represent Democrats in the Egg Harbor City race for three open seats on City Council, current Council President Ed Dennis led the way with 119 votes. He was followed by former Councilman Douglas Dickinson with 118 and Crusaders President Mason Wright Jr. who received 114.

Former Councilman Frank J. Maccri led the uncontested Republican primary race for City Countil with 125 votes. He was followed by Joseph K. May with 118 and Thomas J. Mazetis with 116.

In the uncontested race for the Democratic Party nomination for Egg Harbor City mayor, current City Councilwoman Lisa Jiampetti received 131 votes. In the uncontested Republican primary race for mayor, Cliff Mays received 74 votes.

In the uncontested Republican Party primary for Hamilton Township Committee, former Mayor Bruce A. Strigh received 571 votes and current Planning Board Chairman David Wigglesworth was close behind with 569.

In the uncontested Democrat Party primary for Township Committee, Young’s Skating Center co-owner Judy Link garnered 527 votes and former Hamilton Township School Board member Rodney Guishard received 511 votes.

blog comments powered by Disqus