Township Committee welcomes new members

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

Photo submitted/Rodney Guishard is sworn in by state Sen. James Whelan as Helen Guishard holds the Bible. Photo submitted/Rodney Guishard is sworn in by state Sen. James Whelan as Helen Guishard holds the Bible.

HAMILTON TOWNSHIP –Rodney Guishard and Judith Link were sworn in as the newest Township Committee members Monday, Jan. 7.

Guishard was sworn in by Atlantic County State Sen. James Whelan. Link was sworn in by her niece, Hoboken Mayor Dawn Zimmer.

Amy Gatto, serving her sixth year in office, was selected as the Committee’s chairperson - or mayor. She was mayor in 2011. Last year’s mayor, Roger Silva, was selected to serve as deputy mayor.

Both selections were unanimous.

Among numerous professional appointments made, notable were the reappointments of solicitor Robert Sandman, and engineer Robert Smith of the firm of Remington,Vernick and Walberg. Kenneth Moore from Ford Scott Associates was appointed municipal auditor.

The firm of Gruccio, Pepper, DeSanto and Ruth was appointed the municipal labor counsel. Alexander Litwornia, from Litwornia Associates, was selected as the traffic engineer.

Frank Lentz was reappointed Municipal Court public defender. Naming a prosecutor was put off, as all proposals were rejected.

Dennis M. Brown and Glenn Insurance were chosen as risk management consultants.

Board and commission appointments were also made. Bruce Strigh and Frank Tomasello were appointed regular members of the Zoning Board of Adjustment, each for four-year

terms. Bill Christman was appointed to fill an unexpired term ending Dec. 31. Amanda Zimmerman was named to fill the unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2014 of John Sacchinelli, who resigned due to winning a seat on the Board of Education.

George Samuelson was selected as Zoning Board of Adjustment Alternate I for a two-year term.

Joseph Nickels III was appointed to the Hamilton Township Municipal Utilities Authority for a five-year term ending Feb. 1, 2018. Frank Tomasello and Lisa Faust were named to fill the Hamilton Township Municipal Utilities Authority Alternate I and II positions respectively with their terms ending February 1, 2017.

Arthur Schenker and Jack Carson were each appointed to five-year terms on the Industrial Commission.  Gatto appointed Bill Christman, Michael Dupras, and Richard Cheek regular members of the Hamilton Township Environmental Commission, all for three-year terms. She also appointed Polly Gongwer to fill an unexpired term ending Dec. 31.

Appointments to the Planning Board included were Heather Tomasello as the mayor’s designee as the Class I member for a one-year term. Former Mayor John Percy was renamed the Class II member, while Aline Dix was named as the Township Committee representative on the board.

Gatto appointed Richard Cheek, John Kurtz and Charles Cain as the Planning Board Class IV members for four-year terms and Harry Rogers, the Planning Board alternate II for a two-year term.

Douglas Hand was reappointed as a member of the Veterans Advisory Board for a three-year term. Nicole Scribner was also appointed to a three-year term. Gatto reappointed James Kerrigan, Ronald McArthur and Sam Wells as regular members of the Historic Preservation Commission, each for a four-year term.

Gatto thanked former emergency management coordinator Robert Mattle Jr., who stepped down, for his years of service. She appointed Police Capt. Michael Petuskey emergency management coordinator for a three-year term.

She also confirmed the emergency management coordinator’s appointments of Michael Brandenberger, Paul Sorrentino and Henry Dorsey as co-deputy emergency management coordinators, each for a one-year term.

Gatto also announced the 2013 department liaison and deputy liaison assignments:

Fiscal Vitality - Budget, Finance, Audit and Purchasing: liaison Amy Gatto and deputy liaison Roger Silva.

Quality of Life - Public Works, Street Lighting, Municipal Utilities Authority, Garbage/Trash/Recycling, Recreation, Veterans’ Advisory Board and community based programs: liaison Rodney Guishard and deputy liaison Aline Dix.

Safety - Police, Municipal Court, Emergency Management, Fire and Rescue and Animal Control: liaison Roger Silva and deputy liaison Amy Gatto.

Smart Growth - Planning, Zoning, Code Enforcement, Environmental Commission, Historic Preservation Commission: liaison Aline Dix and deputy liaison Judy Link.

Personnel/Administration - Administrator, Personnel, Insurance, Tax Assessment, Tax Collection, Safety Committee and strategic planning process oversight: liaison Judy Link and deputy liaison Rodney Guishard.

Hamilton Township Committee meets 6:30 p.m. the first and third Mondays of each month, except when those days are holidays, in which case the meetings are held Tuesdays, at Township Hall on Route 50. The meetings are taped, and can be seen on Comcast Channel 2 in Hamilton Township, as well as on the township’s website, 

Photo submitted/James Link holds the Bible as his wife, Judy Link, is sworn in by her niece, Dawn Zimmer, mayor of Hoboken.  Photo submitted/James Link holds the Bible as his wife, Judy Link, is sworn in by her niece, Dawn Zimmer, mayor of Hoboken.

blog comments powered by Disqus