Final tally leaves Election Day results unchanged

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

ABESEON – The Election Day results that have been certified by Atlantic County County Clerk Edward McGettigan reaffirm the results seen in the preliminary Election Day tallies, also offering insight into what areas the candidates were strongest.

Democrat John R. Armstrong won the mayor’s seat with a final total of 2,118 votes, or 52.79 percent. Longtime Councilman and Republican Party challenger Jerry Falivene finished with 1,894 votes, or 47.2 percent.

Falivene won the 1st Ward getting 1,001 votes to Armstrong’s 951. However, Armstrong was the favorite of Ward 2 voters 992-745.

Republican Frank Phillips won election to represent 1st ward residents with a final tally of 1,128 to 988 over Democratic challenger Bart Richter.

Phillips won all three of the ward’s voting districts.

Sandy Shenk Cain won two of the three Ward 2 voting districts over Charles Urban III to earn a seat on City Council. She ended up with a 1,042 to 832 victory. However, she lost the third voting district 310-218.


President, vice president

President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden barely carried Absecon en route to winning second terms in office.

The final vote tally shows they won Absecon with 2,172 to 2,063 over Republican challenger Mitt Romney and vice presidential candidate Rep. Paul Ryan.


School board

In the three-way race for two three-year seats on the Absecon Board of Education, Christopher Cottrell collected the most votes with 1,482. Stan Kolbe Jr. was next with 1,347, and John Rynkiewicz finished third with 1,242.

blog comments powered by Disqus