Certified election results place Page, Davenport, Bright on school board

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

PLEASANTVILLE – For members of the Pleasantville Board of Education, times are officially changing now that the Nov. 6 general election results have been certified by Atlantic County Clerk Edward McGettigan.

Three school board incumbents were unsuccessful in their bids to win one of three three-year terms on the seven-member board.

Instead, a longtime former school board member and two newcomers will replace them in January when the new board takes office.

The certified results, which include mail-in and provisional ballots, upheld the Election Day  tallies that had newcomers Tony Davenport, Michael Bright and former board member Jerome Page each winning a spot on the board.

Board President Doris Graves, a 25-year board of education veteran, failed to win re-election along with Vice President Melanie Griffith and board member Johnny McClellan.

In years past, the final tally of provisional ballots in Pleasantville sometimes turned Election Day winners into losers and losers into winners.

But increased scrutiny by election officials, combined with changes in election laws, have affected the impact of messenger, emergency and provisional ballots on Election Day results.

New totals show Davenport, a former all-star PleasantvilleHigh School basketball player, with the highest vote total at 1,743. He won six of eight voting districts and captured 54 votes by mail and 73 provisional ballots.

Page took second with 1,287 votes, including 67 mail-in votes and 52 provisional ballots. Page was the top vote-getter in Ward 2, District 4.

Bright finished third with 1,234 votes, including 35 votes by mail and 34 provisional ballots. Bright won Ward 1, District 3.

McClellan finished fourth with 1,097 votes, followed by former board member Harriet Jackson with 1,082.

Graves finished sixth with 1,046 votes, and Griffin followed in seventh with 964 votes.


City Council, mayor

Election Day results for the mayor’s office and four seats on council remained unchanged because the incumbents were unchallenged.

Mayor Jesse Tweedle Sr. and Councilmen William Christmas, Lincoln Green Sr., Lockland V. Scott and August C. Harmon each received 100 percent of the vote in easily winning re-election.


House of Representatives

Pleasantville voters strongly backed Cassandra Shober in her losing effort to unseat House or Representative Republican incumbent Frank LoBiondo, who retained his 2nd District seat.

Shober, a Democrat, earned 4,517 votes in Pleasantville, compared to LoBiondo’s 751.



Democratic incumbent Sen. Robert Menendez earned 5,116 votes in Pleasantville en route to a successful Election Day outing. He captured 91.6 percent of the votes in Pleasantville.

Totally Independent Party candidate J. David Dranikoff captured just three votes in Pleasantville.


President, vice president

Incumbent President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden dominated the polls in Pleasantville, capturing 5,672 of 6,145 votes cast, or 92.3 percent.

Republican presidential challenger Mitt Romney and his running mate Rep. Paul Ryan were second with 450 votes, or 7.3 percent.

blog comments powered by Disqus