EHT's Toussaint joins Holy Spirit's D'Arcy, Ellis in Region 8 finals

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

region8semifinal Mike Schultz/Holy Spirit heavyweight Ray Ellis pins Gloucester's Allan Westenberger in 1:29 to advance to the Region 8 finals. Holy Spirit's Pat D'Arcy and Ray Ellis along with Egg Harbor Township's Nigel Toussaint will each compete in the finals of the Region 8 tournament scheduled to begin at 3 p.m. Saturday.

D'Arcy, the top seed at 106 defeated (4) Joshua Pineda from Vineland by decision 7-0. He will face (2) Zack Firestone from Clearview in the finals.

Toussaint, the second seed, earned a 3-1 decision over Millville's Obie Kali at 220. He will face Delsea's top seeded Bryan Dobzanski.

(6) Ellis made quick work of (2) Allan Westenberger, pinning the Gloucester junior in 1:29. The Holy Spirit heavyweight will face top seeded Roy Lucas from St. Joseph's (Hammonton) in the finals.

All three wrestlers are guaranteed to place and will advance to the state tournament next weekend.

Holy Spirit's Brandon Bower (138), Egg Harbor Township's Shawn Bryant (132), Atlantic City's Cesar Balmaceda (160) and Oakcrest's John Benard (182) all won their semifinal consolation matches earnining a berth in the consolation finals.

Consolation final winners advance to next weekend's state tournament.

Bower pinned Cedar Creek's Eric Hanusewicz in 3:47 and will face (6) Rian Lamanteer (Delsea) in the finals. Bryant defeated Schalick's (4) John Gallo Arthur 4-0 and will meet (2) Isiah DeGuzman from Timber Creek in the finals. Balmaceda defeated Egg Harbor Township's (4) James Ingersol 10-4 and will face (5) Kellen Whitney from Hammonton in the finals. Benard defeated Atlantic City's Lierena Percy 3-1 and will face (9) Victor Defrance from Delsea.

Absegami's Yanni Patsaros (113) was eliminated after losing his opening consolation match to Lower Cape May's Zach Hicks by pin :40. His Absegami teammate John Willette (145) was also eliminated after dropping a 4-3 decision to Woodstown's Patrick McCurdy.

Cedar Creek's Tommy Rheault (195) was eliminated after being pinned by Clayton's Gabe Sastre at 1:31. Rheault's teammate Eric Hanusewicz (138) lost in the second round of consolations to Holy Spirit's Brandon Bower by pin at 3:47.

Mainland's John Fitzpatrick(152) was also defeated in the second round losing by pin at 5:36 to Delsea's John Hennelly.

Atlantic City's Joseph Cutugno (152) was eliminated by Clayton's Steminto Rowe-Akins losing 7-1 in their second round match. Lierena Percy (182) was eliminated after his 3-1 loss to Oakcrest's John Benard.

Egg Harbor Township's James Ingersol (160) was eliminated after losing to Atlantic City's Cesar Balmaceda 10-4.


blog comments powered by Disqus