Christie updates list of evacuation zones

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

TRENTON – Earlier this evening Gov. Chris Christie announced an updated list of mandatory evacuations in shore communities ahead of Hurricane Irene to ensure the safety of New Jersey residents in the areas expected to be most affected.

Mandatory evacuations have been ordered in the following areas, according to an announcement posted 6:30 p.m. Friday, Aug 26:

Atlantic County – Absecon (east of Route 9), Atlantic City, Brigantine, Corbin City, Galloway Township (east Route 9), Linwood (east of Route 9), Longport, Margate, Northfield (east of Route 9), Port Republic (east of Route 9), Somers Point (east Route 9), Ventnor, and West Atlantic City in Egg Harbor Township (east of Route 9).

Cape May County – All municipalities.

Ocean County – All of Long Beach Island, Berkeley.

Monmouth County – Keansburg, Spring Lake, Sea Bright, Monmouth Beach, Asbury Park (limited areas – coastal), Wall Township (limited areas – low lying/coastal), Town of Highlands, Manasquan (limited areas – low lying/coastal; beginning Saturday, Aug. 27 at 6 a.m.), and Union Beach (beginning Saturday, Aug. 27 at 11 a.m.).

At a press briefing Friday, Christie again stressed the importance of residents’ preparedness and urged New Jerseyans in affected areas to heed evacuation orders ahead of the hurricane’s arrival.

Residents are urged to check for further information about safety precautions, evacuation routes and best practices by visiting or by calling 211.


blog comments powered by Disqus