South Jersey Dems back Buono for governor

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

Barbara Buono Barbara Buono

State Sen. Barbara Buono received the endorsement Tuesday, Jan. 29 of South Jersey Democrats, including Sens. James Whelan of District 2, and Jeff Van Drew and Assemblymen Nelson T. Albano Matthew W. Milam in District 1, in her bid to defeat Gov. Chris Christie in the fall.

“Today, we are proud to announce the endorsement of state Senator Barbara Buono for governor from both the entire South Jersey Democratic State Legislative Delegation and all seven Democratic county party chairs,” reads the announcement released today.

“Together, we are committed to tirelessly fight to elect Barbara Buono as our next governor because she has the proven track record to stand up for middle class families and the most vulnerable in our society.” 

The statement praises the 18th District legislator for her service during the past decade in the New Jersey State Senate.

“As chairwoman of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee, she fought to make government more fiscally responsible by cutting $4.5 billion from the state budget, while protecting critically needed resources for health care and our schools,” the announcement states.

It also makes the Democrats' case for why they believe the wildly popular Christie must go.

“Four more years of Chris Christie would be four more years of protecting multi-millionaires, denying women access to critical lifesaving healthcare services, rising unemployment, no relief for overburdened property taxpayers and the most vulnerable in society being trampled by failed policies.”

First elected to the New Jersey State Senate in 2001, Buono represents East Brunswick, Edison, Helmetta, Metuchen, South Plainfield, South River and Highland Park.

Previously, Buono served as a member of the General Assembly for seven years after winning a special election in 1994. She was the ranking Democrat on the Budget Committee.

Among the numerous signers of the announcement are Atlantic County Democratic Party Chairman Jim Schroeder, Cape May County Democratic Party Chairman James Pickering, Esq., Senate President Stephen M. Sweeney, and Assembly Majority Leader Louis D. Greenwald.

blog comments powered by Disqus