Catamaran journalists collect NJPA honors

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

NJPA winners Pictured from left are Staff Writer Cindy Nevitt of the Ocean City Gazette, and from The Current Newspapers, Associate Editor Joan Kostiuk, Staff Writer Suzanne Marino, Editorial Assistant Mandee McCullough, and Staff Writer Shaun Smith. They were in Hamilton, Mercer County tonight at NJPA’s Press Night awards program.  Staff journalists from The Current and The Gazette Newspapers traveled to the Manor in Hamilton, Mercer County this evening (Thursday, April 25) to collect their awards from the 2012 Better Newspapers contest, sponsored by the New Jersey Press Association.

The Downbeach Current won a second-place award for special coverage of the 50th anniversary of the March 1962 Storm, which ran the week of March 7, 2012.

The ’62 Storm Remembered project, which involved the company’s entire editorial staff, and substantial input from our loyal readers, was recognized in the category of Reporting, Writing and Illustration – Special Subject Writing, for weekly newspapers greater than 6,500 circulation.

Although the section from Downbeach was recognized, it appeared in various forms in all 12 of Catamaran Media’s year-round publications, from the Cape May Gazette all the way up to the Brigantine Beachcomber. No one knew then how relevant the project would become, appearing about seven months ahead of this generation’s storm of a lifetime, Hurricane Sandy.

The work is worth reviewing online at:

Also collecting NJPA kudos was Staff Writer Cindy Nevitt of the Ocean City Gazette who garnered two second-place honors for weekly newspapers greater than 6,500 circulation.

In Reporting, Writing and Illustration – Interpretive Writing, she won for “Southend beaches getting smaller” from September. Read the story online here:

Nevitt caught the judges’ eye again in Reporting, Writing and Illustration – Investigative Reporting with, “Does most of City Council have a conflict of interest in chamber deal?” Read that one at:

Congratulations to all of our talented, hard-working journalists.

blog comments powered by Disqus