Catamaran Media wins 4 journalism awards

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

The Current and Gazette Newspapers received four awards in the New Jersey Press Association’s annual Better Newspaper Contest for responsible journalism.

Staff writer Christie Rotondo of Little Egg Harbor, who writes for the Wildwood Leader, won a first-place Robert P. Kelly award for the stories "Local GOP courting women candidates” and “Veteran reporter to celebrate 74 years in print.” The Kelly award is given to full-time reporters who have less than 12 months of professional experience. The circulation group was weekly newspapers with a circulation of less than 6,500.

Columnist Joe Wilkins of Smithville won a first-place award among weeklies with a circulation of more than 6,500 for his column, “Joe's Take” The winning columns were titled “An Orthodox Passover at the country club” and “The heartfelt prayers of the candle lighters.”

Editorial assistant Mandee McCullough of Brigantine won a second-place Innovation Award for her Pets webpage at, also in the weekly over 6,500 circulation group. The page features pets and animals in the news, adoptions, lost and found, pet care tips and other stories.

Staff writer Laura Stetser of Egg Harbor Township, who writes for The Current of Egg Harbor Township, won second place in Education Writing for weekly newspapers with more than 6,500 circulation for her series on the school district’s new STEM initiative, which promotes science, technology, education and math across the curriculum. See "New STEM initiative at Egg Harbor Township schools aims to keep lessons relevant" and related stories.


blog comments powered by Disqus